Graduates Filter


CARTA Fellows

Esan Oluwaseun Taiwo

Obafemi Awolowo University

Country: Nigeria

Institution: Obafemi Awolowo University

Area of Research:


Esan is a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Community Health at the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) and Honorary Consultant, Community Health Physician with the Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospitals Complex (OAUTHC), Ile-Ife. She trains medical students at the undergraduate level and resident doctors as well as students of Masters of Public Health. She also trains resident doctors in the Department of Community Health. She is currently the coordinator of the Health Management Track for the Master of Public Health Program in her department as well as the Residency Training Coordinator.
She has a Master’s degree in Business Administration (MBA) and another in Public Health (MPH) and holds Bachelor’s degrees in Medicine and another in Surgery (M.B. Ch., B). She was the Senior Research Team Lead on the Measurement, Learning, and Evaluation project in Benue and Kebbi states (Nigeria) for the Save the Children, Nigeria in collaboration with Save the Children, USA, and the Research Triangle International (RTI) for four months. For a decade, between 2003 and 2013, she analyzed the trends in the Millennium Development Goals for Nigeria).
She has served as a Consultant to Lagos state on Conducting a Bottleneck Analysis for the Prevention of Mother to Child Transmission of HIV in the state. In her clinical practice, she manages both adults and children at a public comprehensive health facility and provides health services including reproductive health services, Infectious Disease Control, child welfare clinics, and the General Outpatient clinics to mention a few. Strengthening health systems is her area of research interest. Her core focus is on Human Resource Management and the provision of quality health service delivery.
In her service to the community, she is the current President of the Medical Women’s Association of Nigeria, Osun State Chapter, and a member of the Nigerian Medical Association’s Osun State Executive Council. She is also a member of the Osun State Primary Health Care Governing Board.