Graduates Filter


Our Partners

OUr partners

CARTA is a consortium of eight African-partner universities, four research institutions, and nine Non-African partner institutions jointly led by the African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC), Kenya, and the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits), South Africa.

African Partners

The African partner institutions contribute to the realization of the objectives of the CARTA program in several ways. They provide doctoral training and research capacity-building opportunities to CARTA fellows, facilitate CARTA fellows’ academic and research excellence and career development, mainstream CARTA interventions in the institutions, and much more.

Non-African Partners

The non-African partners participate in many ways in the consortium, for example by facilitating in the Joint Advanced Seminars (JASes), mentoring graduates, supervisors, and faculty, facilitating fellows’ access to specialized training and international opportunities, and offering complementary and comparative experiences on determinants of health.

African Research Institutions

The African Research Institutions expertise covers: infectious diseases and rising NCDs; policy and delivery challenges; observational and trial/evaluation research; research platforms that couple clinical and molecular expertise with population sciences and policy studies; and new generation agendas ranging from enhanced data sharing to genomic determinants and related ethical questions.